Skip to Content

A Monthly Culture Matrix For the Cosmopolitan Traveler

Kirill Petrenko Conducts Schoenberg and Brahms

Berlin Philharmonic / Berlin / Music

The great ensemble inaugurates the new season with a juxtaposition of some of the chief conductor’s chief priorities: the Symphony No. 4 in E minor, op. 98, of Brahms, because Brahms belongs to the orchestra’s historic core repertoire; and Schoenberg’s Verklärte Nacht (Transfigured Night), because of Petrenko’s dedication to the aesthetic upheaval at the dawn of the 20th century. Mind you, while the advanced harmonies of the Schoenberg baffled many at the premiere in 1902, this breakthrough work goes down easy now. Can the maestro restore the sense of unease and dislocation? And is that his agenda? We shall hear, and we shall see. —M.G.

Buy tickets here
Berlin Philharmonic Herbert-von-Karajan-Straße 1, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Get Directions »
Start a New Search
Subscribers Only

Start your free trial to access the full Arts Intel Report

Subscribe to Air Mail to access every article
and search our entire Arts Intel Report.

Subscribe Now

Already a subscriber? Sign in here.