Skip to Content

A Monthly Culture Matrix For the Cosmopolitan Traveler

Celebrating Slatkin at 75/Kern plays Rachmaninoff

The program title almost tells the whole story. Along with Copland’s Symphony No. 3 and Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 1—Olga Kern at the keyboard—a number of symphony orchestras, including the NSO, have each commissioned a variation on Paganini’s Caprice No. 24. It’s their birthday gift to Maestro Slatkin, an addendum to the set of variations he commissioned while leading the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra. The new work is called Yet Another Set of Variations (on a Theme of Paganini). —L.J.

Buy tickets here
National Symphony Orchestra 2700 F St NW, Washington, DC 20566, USA
Get Directions »
Start a New Search
Subscribers Only

Start your free trial to access the full Arts Intel Report

Subscribe to Air Mail to access every article
and search our entire Arts Intel Report.

Subscribe Now

Already a subscriber? Sign in here.