Skip to Content

A Monthly Culture Matrix For the Cosmopolitan Traveler

Brahms Quartet

Cleveland Orchestra / Cleveland / Music

A quartet as the pièce de résistance on a symphonic program? In the case of the Brahms Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, absolutely, because it has been orchestrated, masterfully, by none other than Arnold Schoenberg. “It is always very badly played,” Schoenberg said, speaking of the Brahms original, “as the better the pianist, the louder he plays, and one hears nothing of the strings.” In Schoenberg’s redaction, the piece also made a convert of the choreographer George Balanchine, who customarily thought chamber music unsuitable for his ballets (“too long, too many repeats, meant for small rooms”). Well, the Brahms-Schoenberg Quartet of Balanchine, in four spacious movements each with its own full cast, is one of the glories of the canon. On its own, the music is pretty glorious, too. —M.G.

Buy tickets here
Cleveland Orchestra Severance Hall, 11001 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44106, United States
Get Directions »
Start a New Search
Subscribers Only

Start your free trial to access the full Arts Intel Report

Subscribe to Air Mail to access every article
and search our entire Arts Intel Report.

Subscribe Now

Already a subscriber? Sign in here.