Skip to Content

A Monthly Culture Matrix For the Cosmopolitan Traveler

Beethoven and Mozart, Philippe Herreweghe, Conductor

Cleveland Orchestra / Cleveland / Music

Beethoven’s Egmont overture and Violin Concerto, Mozart’s Symphony No. 41 (the “Jupiter”)—staples of the repertoire a Top Five classical band like the Cleveland could presumably play in its collective sleep. Ah, but the early-music specialist Philippe Herreweghe is on hand to wake everyone up from the daze of routine. Coincidentally, Isabelle Faust, the period-sensitive soloist for the concerto, plays the “Sleeping Beauty” Stradivarius (1704). —M.G.

Buy tickets here
Cleveland Orchestra Severance Hall, 11001 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44106, United States
Get Directions »
Start a New Search
Subscribers Only

Start your free trial to access the full Arts Intel Report

Subscribe to Air Mail to access every article
and search our entire Arts Intel Report.

Subscribe Now

Already a subscriber? Sign in here.