Skip to Content

A Monthly Culture Matrix For the Cosmopolitan Traveler

1893: Dvořák’s American Quintet

Chamber Music Society / New York / Music

The headliner is Antonín Dvořák’s Quintet of 1893, American, a rich work that reaches for the composer’s native Bohemia through the sounds of a summer he spent in Spillville, Iowa. The program begins with Southland Sketches by African American Harry Burleigh, drops in on Leonard Bernstein, and culminates with the Appalachian Spring Suite, Aaron Copeland’s concert version of the 1944 nativity play he made with modern dancer Martha Graham: America was the newborn. —L.J.

Buy tickets here
Chamber Music Society 70 Lincoln Center Plaza, New York, NY 10023, USA
Get Directions »
Start a New Search
Subscribers Only

Start your free trial to access the full Arts Intel Report

Subscribe to Air Mail to access every article
and search our entire Arts Intel Report.

Subscribe Now

Already a subscriber? Sign in here.